General Information

International travelers entering into Taiwan for a temporary stay may be eligible for visa exemption or are eligible for eVisas. Please check below for eligibility and proceed with the procedure accordingly.


1. Countries/Regions Eligible for Visa-Exempt Entry
Region Country
Asia East Asia Japan Republic of Korea
Southeast Asia Brunei Malaysia
Singapore Thailand
West Asia Cyprus Israel
Americas North America Canada U.S.A.
Central America/Carribean Belize Dominican Republic El Salvador
Guatemala Haiti Honduras
Nicaragua Saint Christopher and Nevis
Saint Lucia Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
South America Chile Paraguay
Europe East Europe Bulgaria Czech Republic Hungary
Poland Romania Slovakia
West Europe Austria Belgium France
Germany Ireland Liechtenstein
Luxembourg Monaco Netherlands
Switzerland United Kingdom
North Europe Denmark Estonia Finland
Iceland Latvia Lithuania
Norway Sweden
South Europe Andorra Croatia Greece
Italy Malta Portugal
Republic of San Marino Slovenia Spain
Vatican City State
Oceania Australia New Zealand

Note: Nationals from the above mentioned countries are permitted to stay for a duration of up to 90 days, except for Belize, Brunei , Dominican Republic, Guatemala, Malaysia, Saint Christopher and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Singapore and Thailand whom can stay up to 30 days.

2. Countries/Regions Eligible for Authorization Certificate
  • Nationals of India, Indonesia, the Philippines, Thailand, and Vietnam, who also possess a valid visa or permanent resident certificate issued by U.S.A., Canada, Japan, U.K., Schengen Convention countries, Australia or New Zealand, are eligible for visa exemption and should apply for an “Authorization Certificate.”
  • Certificate can be completed at the website for “Advance Online Registration System for the Visitors of national from Five Southeast Asian Countries to Taiwan,” Upon completion, print out the certificate to enter into Taiwan for immigration inspection.
3. Countries/Regions Eligible for eVisas
  • International travelers who have been invited to attend international conferences, sports events, trade fairs, or other activities in Taiwan are eligible for eVisas.
  • Nationals from the following 27 countries who meet the requirements are eligible for eVisas:
    Region Country
    Africa Burkina Faso* Democratic Republic of
    Sao Tome and Principe*
    Asia Southeast Asia Brunei  
    Americas Central America / Carribean Belize* Dominican Republic El Salvador*
    Guatemala Haiti Honduras
    Nicaragua* The Republic of Panama* Saint Lucia*
    Saint Vincent
    and the Grenadines*
    Saint Christopher and Nevis  
    South America Columbia* Ecuador Paraguay
    Europe East Europe Turkey*    
    South Europe Macedonia    
    Oceania Kiribati Marshall Islands* Nauru
    Palau Solomon Islands* Tuvalu

    • The validity of an eVisa is 3-months starting from the issued date. The maximum duration of stay in Taiwan is 30 days.
    • Application fee (NT$1,632, estimated US$50.00) is non-refundable. However, countries listed in the above chart marked with * and nationals of Chile, Malawi, South Africa are exempt from application fee.
    • Application can be completed at Upon completion, print out the eVisa to enter into Taiwan for immigration inspection.
4. Travelers from China, can refer to the National Immigration Agency website for further information,
5. Travelers with Hong Kong and Macao Residency can enter either apply for Entry Permit in advance or Landing visa after landing in Taiwan.
6. For Application & questions

* Person to receive invitation letter request is May Chien, she can be reached at
General Visa application can be processed at the overseas diplomatic offices abroad, please check website for location:
Further information can be found on the Bureau of Consular Affairs of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs website:
Online application for Entry Permit for Hong Kong and Macao Residents: